Email and Digital Marketing
How can we help you?
Search our help articles, video tutorials, and quickstart guides

You've got this. You've got us. Search our Knowledge Base to quickly find answers to your questions.

Cancel your account

Article: 000041585
Updated: October 28, 2026

Information regarding how to cancel your Constant Contact account

 

We understand that circumstances can change, and we're sorry to see you go. If you're considering canceling your account, we’re here to help you manage your plan to best suit your needs and address any questions or issues you may have.

 

Notes before continuing:

  • If you're still in your free trial period and do not wish to continue, there is no need to cancel your account. Your trial will end on its own after the free period has passed. 
  • If you want to delete your account so you can use your email address for another account, be sure to update the username before canceling.

Alternatives to canceling

If your marketing needs have changed, consider these alternatives before closing your account completely:

  • Pause your account - If you no longer need our services right now but might in the future, you can put your account on hold for a low monthly fee. This keeps your contacts, campaigns, and reporting data safely stored for when you're ready to return.
  • Downgrade your plan - You can switch to a lower-tier plan to better align your costs with the specific features you're actively using.
  • Access marketing resources - If you're struggling to see the desired results from your marketing efforts, we offer a variety of free resources to help you achieve your goals and get the most out of your account:
    • Live “Ask a Trainer” sessions where you can drop in daily to get your questions answered by our experts.
    • Live and recorded webinars on a variety of topics that can help you learn best practices and how to use our tools effectively to make the most of your online marketing efforts.
    • Constant Contact Community, where you can connect with our experts and other small businesses like yours to ask questions, get advice, and exchange insights.

 

 

How to cancel your account

If you've decided that canceling is the best option for you, our Billing Support team is ready to assist you. Please give them a call at your convenience. To avoid any future charges, be sure to contact us before your next billing date.

 

Billing Support phone numbers:

  • US/Canada toll-free: 855-229-5506
  • UK toll-free: 0808 234 0945
  • Outside US/Canada: +1 781-472-8120

 

What to have ready when you call:

  • The username of the account you wish to cancel.
  • Your reason for canceling. Your feedback is invaluable and helps us to continually improve our products and services.

 

After your call, we'll send a confirmation email to your main account email address within 24 hours.

 

Please note: Prepayments are non-refundable, even if you choose to cancel before the end of your billing term.

 

 

What to expect after you cancel

Your Constant Contact account will officially be canceled on your next billing date. You can continue using your account as normal until the specified cancellation date.

Once the cancellation date has passed and your account is canceled, please be aware of the following:

  • You'll lose access to all your contacts, campaigns, and reporting data.
  • Images and documents hosted in your account will be taken offline.
  • Any add-ons or services you have are also canceled.
  • Active automations will be deactivated.
  • Integrations will be disconnected.
  • Your list-growth tools will still allow sign-ups, but the new contacts will not be captured or saved in your account.

 

Export unsubscribed contacts (CAN-SPAM compliance) 

In compliance with the CAN-SPAM Act, unsubscribe requests never expire. Even after you close your Constant Contact account, you must not email any contacts on your Constant Contact Unsubscribed list unless they explicitly opt in again.

Action recommended: We strongly encourage you to export your unsubscribed list prior to cancellation so you can maintain it with your new email marketing provider.

 

Data retention policy

We can only guarantee to store your account and data for 30 days after cancellation. After that period, if your account is deemed inactive, we reserve the right to permanently delete your contacts and content.

 

 


Questions?

Ask the Community

Did this article answer your question?


Constant Contact Logo

Copyright © 2026 · All Rights Reserved · Constant Contact · Privacy Center