Email and Digital Marketing
How can we help you?
Search our help articles, video tutorials, and quickstart guides

You've got this. You've got us. Search our Knowledge Base to quickly find answers to your questions.

Cancel your account

Article: 000039846
Updated: November 4, 2026

Information regarding how to cancel your Constant Contact account online or by phone

 

We understand that circumstances can change, and we're sorry to see you go. If you're considering canceling your account, we’re here to help you manage your plan to best suit your needs and address any questions or issues you may have.

 

Notes before continuing:

  • If you're still in your free trial period and do not wish to continue, you do not need to cancel your account. Your trial will end on its own after the free period has passed.
  • If you want to delete your account so you can use your email address for another account, be sure to update the username before canceling.

Alternatives to canceling

If your marketing needs have changed, consider these alternatives before closing your account completely:

  • Pause your account - If you no longer need our services right now but might in the future, you can put your account on hold for a low monthly fee. This keeps your contacts, campaigns, and reporting data safely stored for when you're ready to return.
  • Downgrade your plan - You can switch to a lower-tier plan to better align your costs with the specific features you're actively using.
  • Access marketing resources - If you're struggling to see the desired results from your marketing efforts, we offer a variety of free resources to help you achieve your goals and get the most out of your account:
    • Live “Ask a Trainer” sessions where you can drop in daily to get your questions answered by our experts.
    • Live and recorded webinars on a variety of topics that can help you learn best practices and how to use our tools effectively to make the most of your online marketing efforts.
    • Constant Contact Community, where you can connect with our experts and other small businesses like yours to ask questions, get advice, and exchange insights.

 

 

What to expect after you cancel

Your Constant Contact account will officially be canceled on your next billing date. You can continue using your account as normal until the specified cancellation date. 

Once the cancellation date has passed and your account is canceled, please be aware of the following:

  • You'll lose access to all your contacts, campaigns, and reporting data.
  • Any add-ons or services you have are also canceled.
  • Images and documents hosted in your account will be taken offline.
  • Any active automations are disabled.
  • Integrations will be disconnected.
  • Your list-growth tools will still allow sign-ups, but the new contacts will not be captured or saved in your account.

 

Export unsubscribed contacts (CAN-SPAM compliance) 

In compliance with the CAN-SPAM Act, unsubscribe requests never expire. Even after you close your Constant Contact account, you must not email any contacts on your Constant Contact Unsubscribed list unless they explicitly opt in again.

Action recommended: We strongly encourage you to export your unsubscribed list prior to cancellation so you can maintain it with your new email marketing provider.

 

Data retention policy

We can only guarantee to store your account and data for 30 days after cancellation. After that period, if your account is deemed inactive, we reserve the right to permanently delete your contacts and content.

 


How to cancel your account

If you've decided that canceling is the best option for you, you can do so online through your account settings, through our mobile app, or by calling our Billing Support team.

Please note: Prepayments are non-refundable, even if you choose to cancel before the end of your billing term.

 

Cancel online

To cancel your account online:

  1. Access your account settings.
  2. Click the Billing tab.

    Billing tab

  3. Scroll down the page and click Manage plan.

    My Account, Cancel Account section, and Cancel Account button
     

Follow the prompts on the screen to continue canceling your account. Your Constant Contact account will be canceled as of your next billing date. You can continue using your account until the specified cancellation date.

 

Image DescriptionRunning into issues? If, for any reason, the experience doesn't work properly, give us a call. We're here to help.



If you wish to keep your account active, click Undo cancellation before the scheduled cancellation date.

My Account, Billing tab, Cancelation scheduled message, Undo Cancelation button

 

Cancel by phone

To cancel your account by phone, please call our Billing Support team at your convenience. To avoid any future charges, be sure to contact us before your next billing date. 

 

  • US/Canada toll-free: 855-229-5506
  • UK toll-free: 0808-303-1966
  • Outside US/Canada: +1 781-472-8120

 

What to have ready when you call:

  • The username of the account you wish to cancel.
  • Your reason for canceling. Your feedback is invaluable and helps us to continually improve our products and services.

 

After your call, we'll send a confirmation email to your main account email address within 24 hours.

 

 

Cancel from the mobile app

 

Steps on iPhone

To cancel your account from the Constant Contact mobile app on an iPhone:

  1. Tap the Account tab.
  2. Tap Profile.



  3. Scroll down and tap Delete account.



  4. If you have an active subscription, you'll need to cancel it first. Tap Continue.



  5. Check the box to confirm the cancellation of your subscription and the cancellation of your account after that subscription ends. Your plan will remain active until the end of your subscription.
  6. Tap Continue.



  7. Select the reason for the cancellation.
  8. Tap Confirm cancellation.

 

<

Steps on Android

To cancel your account from the Constant Contact mobile app on an Android:

  1. Tap to expand the menu, then tap Account.

    Mobile app android phone left side menu Account option

  2. In the settings menu, tap on Profile.

    Profile button in the account page

  3. Scroll down and tap Delete account.

    Delete account button in the Profile menu

  4. If you have an active subscription, you'll need to cancel it first. Tap Continue.

    Continue button on active subscription notification page

  5. Check the box to confirm the cancellation of your subscription and the cancellation of your account after that subscription ends. Your plan will remain active until the end of your subscription.
  6. Tap Confirm cancellation.

    Checkbox and Confirm cancellation button on the cancel subscription page

  7. Select the reason for the cancellation.
  8. Tap Confirm cancellation.

    Radio buttons next to various reasons for the cancellation and a blue Confirm cancellation button

 


Questions?

Ask the Community

Did this article answer your question?


Constant Contact Logo

Copyright © 2026 · All Rights Reserved · Constant Contact · Privacy Center