Email and Digital Marketing
How can we help you?
Search our help articles, video tutorials, and quickstart guides

You've got this. You've got us. Search our Knowledge Base to quickly find answers to your questions.

Social Posts not showing on social media

Article: 000039750
Updated: November 5, 2026

Troubleshooting social post errors that prevent a post from displaying on Facebook, Instagram, LinkedIn, or TikTok

If you shared a social post through your Constant Contact account but don't see it posted on your social media networks, it may have encountered an error. To check for errors:

  1. From the menu on the left-hand side, click Channels > Social.
  2. Click the Posts tab.
  3. (Optional) Narrow your search by clicking on the Status drop-down menu and selecting the "Error" option.
  4. Click the three dots on the right-hand side of the errored post and select the "View details" option.

    Channels menu expanded with Social option selected, Social page with Posts tab selected, Status drop-down menu with Error option selected, post with error, and post menu expanded with View details option selected

  5. From post's Details page, you can see which social profiles have an error. Click the "Retry" option next to an error to attempt to share the post again, if available. There are a couple of reasons why a post could be failing:

 


The account has become disconnected or needs to be reauthenticated

Your social profile must be connected in order to share posts to it. Occasionally, you may have to update permissions or renew a token connection, and the social profile ends up in an error state.

 

The same post is posted multiple times in a row (maximum polling attempts)

While it's ok to publish a post with the same content as a previous post, if the posts are too close together, the social network can prevent them from posting. To prevent this from happening:

  • Change the content of your post before sharing it again.
  • Wait a little bit before sharing the exact same content again.
  • Recreate the post directly on your social profile and try to share it.

 

The post is temporarily blocked for policy violations

The "temporarily blocked for policies violations" error message means that the social network has found something in the content (text, image, URL, etc.) of your post that violates its community standards. If you're sharing content that has been previously shared on Facebook and but reported as a violation, Facebook won't allow it to be shared again.

  • Remove the content that is in violation before sharing your post again.

For more information about community standards and policies violations, please see:

 

Instagram account is restricted or inactive

To post Social Posts to your Instagram account, the account must be active and can't be restricted.

  • Inactive Accounts - An active account becomes inactive through lack of use.
  • Restricted Accounts - An account can choose to restrict its content so it only shows to people over a certain age.

For more information about inactive or restricted accounts, please see Instagram's support.

 

Any links we provide from non-Constant Contact sites or information about non-Constant Contact products or services are provided as a courtesy and should not be construed as an endorsement by Constant Contact.

 


Questions?

Ask the Community

Did this article answer your question?


Constant Contact Logo

Copyright © 2026 · All Rights Reserved · Constant Contact · Privacy Center