Email and Digital Marketing
How can we help you?
Search our help articles, video tutorials, and quickstart guides

You've got this. You've got us. Search our Knowledge Base to quickly find answers to your questions.

Add and manage users in your Constant Contact account

Article: 000041588
Updated: November 6, 2026

Let others collaborate in your account by creating new users and assigning them a user role

 

As the Account Owner, you can allow multiple people to work in your Constant Contact account by adding them as individual users. This improves account security by allowing users to maintain their own login credentials and Multi-factor authentication devices, rather than sharing your Account Owner login information.

 

 

 

In need of multiple accounts? Our multi-account solution is designed for organizations seeking unique accounts for their various locations, departments, or users. Take advantage of bulk pricing, product features for brand control, customized onboarding, and more!


Understanding user roles

Each user in your account is assigned a specific role to determine their level of access:

 

  • Account Owner - This is the sole owner of the account with full access to all areas, including billing, and is the only one who can add new users to the account. There can only be one Account Owner at a time, but ownership can be transferred as necessary.
    Tip: If you’re not sure who the Account Owner is, you can go to the Account emails tab in your account settings to find the email address marked as "Account," or check the name listed in the new user invitation email if you're a Campaign Creator and don't have access to the Account emails tab.

  • Account Manager - This user role can do almost everything an Account Owner can, including creating and sending campaigns, managing contact lists, and viewing reports. They cannot access billing information. 
    Note: Account Managers can still affect your monthly invoice amount if they add enough contacts to move you to a higher contact tier or if they exceed your email send allowance and incur an overage fee.

  • Campaign Creator - This user role can create and customize all campaign types, but cannot send them. They do not have access to contact details, account settings, or billing information.

 

 

Things to note:

  • Plan limits - The number of users you can add to your account depends on your Constant Contact email plan. Check the Plans & Pricing page in your account to see how many users you can have.
  • Unique usernames - Usernames can only be used once across all Constant Contact accounts. If the email address for your new user is already being used as a username for another account or user, you won’t be able to add them as a new user to your account. If you encounter this issue, try these options to resolve it.
  • Multi-factor authentication (MFA) - All new users will be prompted to set up MFA upon their first login to verify their identity, regardless of whether the Account Owner has MFA enabled.
  • Simultaneous editing warning - Multiple users can log in and edit an email simultaneously, but only the most recently saved changes are preserved. Users should communicate before editing to prevent the accidental loss of content.

 

 

How to add a new user to your account

When you add a new user, they’re sent an email inviting them to collaborate in your Constant Contact account. Their email address becomes their username (which they can change later in their settings), and they will use the link in the email invite to create their password.

  1. Click the profile name in the upper right and select Settings.

    Profile name with Settings option in drop-down

  2. Click the Manage users tab.
  3. Click the Add New User button.

    My Account, Manage Users tab, and Add New User button

  4. Enter the new user’s email address in the field. Make sure there are no spaces or unsupported characters before or after the email address. If you encounter an error, try these options to resolve it.
  5. Select if you want the new user to be an Account Manager or Campaign Creator.
  6. Click the Send invite button.

    Add a Collaborator overlay with Email Address field, Select Role options, and Send Invite button

  7. An email will be sent to the email address you entered. Click Got it on the confirmation message.

    Invite Sent confirmation message with Copy URL and Got It buttons

 


Managing pending invitations

Once an invite is sent, the new user will be marked as Pending in your list of users until they set up their account login.

  • The user has 72 hours to click the Create a password button in the email before the invitation expires.

    New User Invitation email in the inbox with Create a Username and Password button

  • If you need to resend or cancel an invitation, go to the Manage users tab, click the three dots next to the pending user, and select Resend invite or Revoke invite.

    Manage Users page with Pending user and More drop-down with Resend Invite and Revoke Invite options
     


 

How to change a user's role

If you need to give a Campaign Creator more responsibility, you can reassign the user to an Account Manager role. Or if you need to restrict access for an Account Manager, you can reassign the user to a Campaign Creator role. You can change a user's role at any time.

  1. Click the profile name in the upper right and select Settings.

    Profile name with Settings option in drop-down

  2. Click the Manage users tab.
  3. Click the three dots next to the user you want to update and select Edit user role from the drop-down.

    Manage Users tab, More drop-down and Edit User Role option

  4. Select the new role you want to assign to the user.
  5. Click Change role.

    Edit User Role overlay with Account Manager and Campaign Creator options, and Change Role button

 


 

How to deactivate or reactivate a user

When an Account Manager or Campaign Creator leaves your organization, you can deactivate their access without deleting their historical data. You can easily reactivate them later if needed. 

  1. Click the profile name in the upper right and select Settings.

    Profile name with Settings option in drop-down

  2. Click the Manage users tab.
  3. Click the three dots next to the user you want to update and select Deactivate or Reactivate from the drop-down.

    Manage Users tab, More drop-down and Deactivate option

 

 

How to delete a user

If you have a limited number of users available in your plan and need to free up a spot for someone else, you can permanently delete a user. You cannot undo a deletion, but you can re-invite them as a new user later if needed. A user must be deactivated before they can be deleted.

  1. Click the profile name in the upper right and select Settings.

    Profile name with Settings option in drop-down

  2. Click the Manage users tab.
  3. Click the three dots next to the deactivated user and select Delete from the drop-down.

    Manage Users tab, More drop-down and Delete option

  4. Click Continue to confirm you want to delete the user.

    Confirm Delete message with Continue button


Questions?

Ask the Community

Did this article answer your question?


Constant Contact Logo

Copyright © 2026 · All Rights Reserved · Constant Contact · Privacy Center